Our Impact on Accelerating Real-time Environment in Dental Industry

In 2013, the National Dental Electronic Data Interchange Council (NDEDIC) signed a formal affiliation agreement with NCPDP. The goal of the affiliation was to empower NDEDIC’s members to shape the evolution of the dental industry by applying NCPDP’s collaborative, consensus-based process, and other best practices NCPDP has developed over the past 39 years. During the affiliation, NDEDIC established formal work groups and adopted a consensus-based process modeled similar to the work group structure and process of NCPDP. NDEDIC also released two dental industry best practice guidance documents. The affiliation concluded in August 2016.

Encouraging Collaboration through MOUs

NCPDP has Memorandums of Understanding (MOUs) or reciprocal agreements with other organizations to further the goal of advancing the acceptance and use of standards within healthcare. These are independent, non-profit organizations, which share the vision of improved healthcare through standards. NCPDP has MOUs with the following:

General Terms of  Reciprocal Organization Agreements

Promoting Interoperability: A Resurgence of Collaboration Among Healthcare Standards Organizations

NCPDP, founder and Chair of the Standards Charter Organization (SCO), announced that the SCO has been renamed Health Standards Collaboration. The name change reflects the organization’s work, providing a forum for healthcare standards development organizations to collaborate on interoperability and meaningful improvements in healthcare. It also comes on the heels of a major resurgence of the group marked by renewed participation of its member organizations and increased interest by official observers such as the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC).

Health Standards Collaboration is composed of the following standards development organizations (SDO):

  • AAMI (Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation)
  • ADA (American Dental Association)
  • ASC X12 (Accredited Standards Committee)
  • AIIM (Association for Information and Image Management)
  • ASTM
  • CDISC (Clinical Data Interchange Standards Consortium)
  • HL7 (Health Level Seven International)
  • ISO/TC215
  • Regenstrief Institute

SDO-related members include: GS1 US; IHE (Integrating the Healthcare Enterprise); The Open Group Healthcare Forum; and WEDI (Workgroup for Electronic Data Interchange).

Official Observers of Health Standards Collaboration: ANSI (American National Standards Institute); FHA (Federal Health Architecture); ONC (Office of the National Coordinator); and Social Security Administration (SSA).

The Health Standards Collaboration is developing a new charter and will be relaunching its website in 2016.

For problems with the site please contact us at